Blessings in Disguise, Disgust & Decisions

Ever heard the saying, “It was a blessing in disguise”?

Today, I had that experience on many levels in forms of reminders like writing a name, number, or note on the palm of your hand so you don’t forget.

5 things today that reminded me of God’s fingerprints and grace which may seem like coincidence or happenstance.

But here yea go….

#1 While filling up the truck, it was completly full on $77.00 exact. This is a reminder of the number seven having spiritual significance for perfection, completeness, and fullness. Side note: I’ve purchased things a few times that totaled $6.66 or having 666 as an assigned code. Sevens are much better, don’t you think! =)

#2 My wife and I saw the movie October Baby and that was a reminder of the disgusting and devastating truths of abortion. One of the many blessing in disguise was the extra interview with Shari Rigby. She played Cindy, the biological mother that had the failed abortion (twins mind you), and how that paralleled with the personal part of her past.

What was your reaction when you first read the script and realized how much of it resonated with your own life? When Jon called me and said please read the script, the first thing I saw on the front cover was Rachel Hendrix [the main character]. And my husband said to me, “Wow she really looks like you—she could be your daughter,” which made it even more intriguing. Then halfway through the script I realized it paralleled my life 20 years ago. [The character I play] was in the profession I worked in—I was a paralegal. I too had had an abortion. Then when the character goes and speaks with her husband and shares with him what she’d done—that same exact thing happened in my life when my husband and I were probably in the sixth or seventh year of our marriage. So it was really intense to read something so close to my life that not that many people knew about. Certainly the Erwins had no idea that this was part of my past. (Link to full interview)

#3 While my wife and I were going to pick up the kiddos at Nanay’s house, I noticed some of the cool looking cloud formations and one in particular stood out. It had a light green glow that was in a shape of a dove. I took multiple shots with my Iphone in HDR mode and plan to post them unedited. The reminder was that the dove is more than the symbol of peace but of the promise of God’s Helper known as the Holy Spirit.

#4 (My most favorite reminder today) We got our taxes completed which is a miracle in itself. Our awesome tax lady said due to new laws passed by our current administration, we won’t get much back. I was just thankful we didn’t owe anything which is an automatic blessing in disguise.

#5 I woke up this morning (with a few aches and pains) and have the opportunity to share this with you.

“There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle; you can live as if everything is a miracle.” -Albert Einstein

Today’s Lesson on Living for the Lord

The lesson that God reminds me daily is to live for Him moment by moment. Moment by moment decisions to follow Christ and live for the Glory of God. We start our day whether or not to get out of bed or hit the snooze button. We decide to brush our teeth or not. I have a childhood saying, “If you say bad words, you must have bad breath.” (Hint: A bad attitude is mabaho!) My encouragement as you learn to live godly is to be conscience that we make moment by moment decisions to live for Christ or not. So get off your butt and drink from the fountain of Life. May I suggest reading your Proverbs. Ask God for today’s lesson(s) and agenda ….and do all things for the Glory of God by faith and with grace.

Review of the Film – October Baby
Hannah keeps a journal and we get to see the last entry – “The truth will make you free!” I’m a sucker for movies that end in reconciliation. It’s like ending a chapter in your life so that you can start the new and next chapter. The message of forgiveness is beautiful and magnificent. If you’re a dad with a daughter (like me) or grand daughter, you’ll have a connection with the main characters, Hanna and Dr. Lawson.
  • Spoiler Alert! ……… Hannah eventually gets the biblical counseling she needed:
Because we have been forgiven by God, we should forgive each other. In Christ you are forgiven, and because you are forgiven, you have the power to forgive, to choose to forgive. Let it go. Hatred is a burden you no longer need to carry. Only in forgiveness can you be free, Hannah—forgiveness that is well beyond your grasp, or mine, a forgiveness that you can’t find on a trip or even in this cathedral. But if the Son shall set you free, you will be free indeed.
I recommend  this movie and suggest taking your spouse or love ones to see it. We have power in how we spend our money. Let’s tell Hollywood we desire God glorifying movies like October Baby.
.
  • October Baby – Official Movie Trailer

.

  • Shari Rigby’s testimony and confirmation to play Hannah’s biological mother.

.

  • Life Is Beautiful – The Afters 

[And the Lord answered] Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? Yes, they may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have indelibly imprinted (tattooed a picture of) you on the palm of each of My hands… -Isaiah 49:15-16 (AMP)

