My Dirty Little Secret! For Your Eyes ONLY!

Our ears tend to perk up when we hear something juicy about someone or some secret thing…for your eyes only.

I got a dirty little secret for you….it’s about something in my past that I’ve tried to bury but it seemed to resurrect itself like a zombie from the grave.

I used to be in Show Choir in High School and had to dance with a chair to the song, Jail House Rock by The King – Elvis Presley. The lyrics still resonates in my mind:

Sad Sack was sittin’ on a block of stone
Way over in the corner weepin’ all alone
The warden said, “Hey, buddy, don’t you be no square
If you can’t find a partner use a wooden chair”

Let’s rock
Everybody, let’s rock
Everybody in the whole cell block
Was dancin’ to the Jailhouse Rock

Before you dog me and never come back to my blog ever-again, let me first explain…I chose to take Weight Training in Freshman year. First day of class during roll call, Coach Abernathy (sp?) asked me to leave since the class was full. I was forced to join Show Choir. I ended up doing that my Soapa-moore year (That’s how my mom pronounced it) and Junior year. We won lots of competitions even though I sucked at singing and was an okay dancer.

My senior year, I would try weight lifting again and this time, Coach Abernathy let me stay. Coach must of saw something in me that I didn’t. He would compliment me when I did my set of squats and even tell the others this was how to do it. However, my weakness was bench pressing. Coach repeatedly corrected my form….It took awhile but eventually it got through my thick skull.

Coach said some strange and funny things to motivate our mind and muscles. To someone who wasn’t in our class could easily think he was being mean and vulgar. If we couldn’t complete a rep, he’d say things like “Tell your momma, she owes me a dollar” or general motivational sayings and sounds but with YELLING for effectiveness, right. It sure worked. I call this “motivational meanness.” It sounds mean (or like madness) but it wasn’t because Coach was mean but rather it was a method he used to disciple us so we would transform into “lean-mean” machines.

At times, it might sound like I’m using mean words but it’s not to tear you down but to get you to get that last rep to failure so your faith muscles grow.

Here’s another secret….the only trophy I’ve ever won was for weight lifting.

After three months of Coach’s special training, I was able to win my first weight lifting competition (Mind you with guys stronger and more experienced). I took second place in my weight division. I could have taken first but one of the veteran guys cut lots of water weight that day to be in same weight class.

I later disclosed to Coach how he took me out of his class freshman year and I had to join Show Choir. You should have seen his reaction and disappointment. I can’t imagine how much I could have benefited from his training for 4-years. I could have been the strongest Filipino body builder in the world. =)

Often we come to Christ and we don’t see results right away. Well, like working out for the first time, your body is going to hurt in places you didn’t know could hurt. The hurt-so-good feeling is an indication that you’re doing it right. You might have to roll yourself out of bed but don’t stop! In a month, you’ll see some results and after 3-months you’ll hit some milestone markers in your faith. But stick to the program and in 6-months, 12-month and years later, you’ll look like those veteran gym rats.

It can be discouraging and even depressing since you don’t look like a gym member or church member but keep going, eat right, take your supplements and rest days. Tell someone who works out and get their advice.

I know of a few teachers that are like Coach Abernathy that tells you how it is but it’s to “pump you up” for Jesus and not pull or push you down.

Leonard Ravenhill and KP Yohannan are few of many mighty men of faith and valor that I’ll recommend. However avoid them if you don’t want to live out a disciplined and righteous life. These guys may seem like purist or legalist but they promote a no-compromise lifestyle to produce no-compromise and committed Christ conquerors and warriors.

My buddy is a competitive body builder with sponsor-ships (and ordained pastor), and he told me that he sees guys that do the same workout as him but get no results. Why? Because they consume sodas and other junk foods. The key to our spiritual journey are the things we digest (which is the Word of God) and who’s voice we obey.

.
Proverbs is like your protein intake which should be times two of your weight.

He will die for lack of self-control; he will be lost because of his great foolishness.  (Proverbs 5:23, NLT)

The words of the godly encourage many, but fools are destroyed by their lack of common sense. (Proverbs 10:21, NLT)

For the perverse person is an abomination to the LORD, But His secret counsel is with the upright. The curse of the LORD is on the house of the wicked, But He blesses the home of the just. (Proverbs 3:32-33)

Diet Tip: My body building buddy’s tips for those sugar cravings is “Fat-Free Reddi Wip” cream, and eat your peanut M&M’s in the morning so you can burn it off.

What’s your secret that you can share with someone?

The only thing stopping you are those lies you believe. We got excuses for everything, don’t we! People die because of their lack of knowledge. It’s like holding the winning lotto ticket and you’re too lazy or scared to claim the prize.

.
  • God Is Enough – Lecrae (feat. Flame & Jai)

[Flame:]
(We so impressed)
With them ladies
Who be drivin’ Mercedes
Who be drivin’ them crazy
And we gotta be crazy
(We so impressed)
With them fellas
Who be makin’ them jealous
Who be makin’ them stellas
And we gotta be crazy
(I’m so impressed)

King who on the throne
Who left his heavenly home
Never did a thing wrong
They crucified him on
A tree, there he made
It was crazy how it set the stage
For his resurrection from the grave

That gets me amazed
(You can be) the flyest man
(With a) hundred grand in your hand
Swag right, sag tight
And a Gucci fan
(You can) be the richest, be the smartest, be the hardest, all of that
But I guarantee before I die they all are fallin’ flat

[Hook:]
Used to want a lotta things
All the stuff that’s on TV
Education, cars, and clothes
Fashion lights and jewelry
(Focused on the wrong stuff)
Now I got my eyes on you
And now I know that

[Chorus:]
God is enough-nough
God is enough-nough
God is enough-nough
You are enough-nough
Never too much-uch
More than enough-nough
God is enough-nough
You are enough for me

[Lecrae:]
Party like the fast life, hurry this the last flight
Chasin’ all your dreams, this right here could be your last night
And man you finally got your cash right
But it never seems to last right
You know you sick of lookin’, you sick of chasin’
I think you know the truth, you just don’t wanna face it
Your life is empty, though you havin’ fun
You never satisfied, you never get enough
You go from thrill-seekin’ to pill-poppin’
From heavy drinkin’ to club-hoppin’
You just can’t stop it, like you’re a slave
And you chasin’ nothin’ all the way into the grave

[Hook:]
Used to want a lotta things
All the stuff that’s on TV
Education, cars, and clothes
Fashion lights and jewelry
(Focused on the wrong stuff)
Now I got my eyes on you
And now I know that

[Chorus:]
God is enough
God is enough
God is enough
You are enough
Never too much
More than enough
God is enough
You are enough for me

[Lecrae:]
Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want
Takes away my fears, you restore my soul
Off into the sky, the dead in Christ arise
To be with you forever, see with the clearest eyes
Quench my inner thirst, there’s something more in life
No money, cars, relationships compare to joy in Christ
Love that falls from selfish ones that like to flirt with self-destruct
No need to stut, know what I want, to keep it, but my God’s enough

[Hook:]
Used to want a lotta things
All the stuff that’s on TV
Education, cars, and clothes
Fashion lights and jewelry
(Focused on the wrong stuff)
Now I got my eyes on you
And now I know that

[Chorus:]
God is enough
God is enough
God is enough
You are enough
Never too much
More than enough
God is enough
You are enough for me

I don’t need these worldly things, no-oh
I don’t need these worldly things, no-oh
More of you and less of me, G-od
More of you and less of me, G-od
I don’t need these worldly things, no-oh
I don’t need these worldly things, no-oh
More of you and less of me, G-od
More of you and less of me, G-od

[Chorus:]
God is enough
God is enough
God is enough
You are enough
Never too much
More than enough
God is enough
You are enough for me

.
Below videos are great spiritual illustrations and invaluable tips on how to get in-shape. 
  • Kris Gethin’s Body Transformation (Week 7 – Day 47)

.

  • Kris Gethin’s Body Transformation (Week 7 – Day 48)
