Boiled Peanuts for Brain Power…You Know You’re Filipino!

You know you’re Filipino if you like to eat boiled peanuts and have an Uncle named Boy or a name that repeats itself like Boy-Boy and (Auntie) Bing-Bing.

I remember eating these all the time when my family visited the Philippines.

It was their street food that you can get almost anywhere. And recently I’ve been finding them at our Filipino parties or gatherings.

I also remember my mom’s counsel that eating peanuts will make you smart like Uncle Boy. He was the genius of the family (and I might add, the most witty Uncle I have and always had something interesting to say).

After googling the health benefits, my mom is correct. It makes your brain smarter and it’s an overall great source of vitamins, fatty acids, protein, and power/energy!

Guess what? I mentioned to one of my aunties (who’s a nurse) that I get heartburn and have been using TUMS. She suggested that I try eating almonds…and sure enough it worked.

My next experiment is to explore the benefits of seaweed which I already like especially with some raw fish. Yummy! Benefits are good skin/hair, cleans digestive system, healthy heart/immune system and weight loss.

So if you think you’re going “nuts”, have heartburn, bad skin, clogged arteries, allergies, and need to lose weight, may I prescribe you a daily dose of boiled peanuts, almonds, and seaweed.

I’m not physician or health guru so please contact your doctor or health professional before attempting alternative medicine especially if it comes from a Filipino. =)  

Today is April 10, so here is your Proverbs (Chapter 10) to snack on:

The proverbs of Solomon: A wise child brings joy to a father; a foolish child brings grief to a mother. (Verse 1, NLT)

  • HappySlip Episode – Mixed Nuts

.

  • Chapter 10 of Crazy Love book by Francis Chan

.

  • Jeremy Passion – He Knows My Name (I Have A Maker)

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you…” -Jeremiah 1:5

He Knows My Name by Tommy Walker

“I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands

chorus
He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

I have a Father
He calls me His own
He’ll never leave me
No matter where I go”

