Holy Hulk

Have you seen the movie, Avengers? The CG was simply amazing and the fighting scenes were well choreographed.  If you didn’t stick around after the credits, you missed the secret scenes. If you’re reading this and think the above animated gif is disturbing, it’s actually one of the funniest scene but don’t take my word for it.

What Avenger do you closely associate with? Do you wish you had Super-hero strength?

For about 10-years, I’ve been up and down with diets and workouts. I finally found a program that I can make part of my lifestyle. Weight Training was a class I took my senior year in High School and I actually won 2nd place in a power lifting competition with no experience.

After excuses and more excuses like both knees with torn ACL and the notorious of them all, “I-Don’t-Have-Time,” I made a 360-degree in my attitude towards health and fitness. No more See-food diet; see it and eat it! No more sodas and Snicker bars! No more excuses that the dog ate my workout gloves. =)

So I’ve been working on my “before” picture for a long while, now it’s time to work on the “after” picture!

I’ve heard that if you aim at nothing, you are bound to hit it!

So my goal is to look like an Avenger! =)

Today, I worked on shoulders and aim at getting shoulder strength like the Incredible Hulk so it’s easier for me to throw cars like skipping rocks and do push-ups like Chuck Norris. =) As a matter of fact….When Chuck Norris does a pushup, he isn’t lifting himself up, he’s pushing the Earth down. LoL.

I fractured my left wrist from a mountain bike adventure and it’s never been the same. So doing shoulder shrugs with 80-lbs each dumbell can be a challenge. Not so much the shoulders but the wrist and my hand grip can’t complete the set. I even started using wrist straps and it’s still frustrating since I know my shoulder muscles can lift it . So I’ve come to this conclusion, it’s not going to happen over night unless I find a way to expose myself to gamma rays. My other conclusion is that my shoulders are much stronger from using them all my life especially when I got in trouble as a kid. When my parents asked what I did to make my sister cry, I would shrug my shoulders and say, “I dunno!.” The story of my life and maybe yours. =)

BodyBuilding.com had an opportunity to interview the Hulk. Here’s some good advice:

Our readers always want to get bigger and stronger. Any advice you can offer them?
Protein, carbs, gamma rays, rage, repeat.

(http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/avengers-workouts-a-heros-journey.html)

In faith building, to get spiritual endurance and strength, we need much Prayer (Protein), Christ-likeness (Carbs), GRACE (Gamma Rays), Rage (over sin), and repeat!

The Spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. If you struggle with your faith and feel like you are carrying the weight (or burden) of the world on your shoulders, look to a Pro who’s been there and done that. I call Him my Heavenly Dad and He’s got big shoulders to carry what’s weighing you down.

.

  • TobyMac – Boomin

.

  • Switchfoot – Dark Horse

.

  • TobyMac – Ignition (Remix)

